The sharing feature allows you to conveniently share ocs turn on ink sharing and configure view, edit and shar. You can also share ocs with external contacts, set other security permissions (to allow others to leave comments, add collaborators, duplicate a file, print, export, and copy content), or transfer the ownership of specific ocs.
Note: This feature applies to Docs, Sheets, and other files. This article uses Docs as an example.
1. About permissions
Common permissions viewing, editing and sharing as well as ownership permissions.
- •With Viewing permission, you can view ocs, read comments and comment history.
- •With Editing permission, you can view and edit ocs, read comments and comment history as well as view and restore version history.
- •With Sharing (add and manage collaborators) permission, you're able to share ocs with others or to remove invited collaborators.
- •With Ownership permission, you are able to view, edit, and share ocs, to turn on ink sharing, and to modify other security settings of ocs, including delet and recover ocs.
Note: In addition to the functions mentioned above, cs permissions also allow you to copy, print, export and duplicate ocs. For more information, please refer to "8. Other Security Permissions."
2. Request permissions
To request viewing permission from a doc owner, simply follow the following steps:
- 1.Click the oc link and select view permission.
- 2.Add remarks (optional), and click Send Request.
- 3.Get approval and start viewing the oc.
To request editing or sharing permission, simply follow these steps:
- 1.Open the desired ocs and choose Share - Request permissions in the upper right corner.
- 2.Add remarks (optional), and click Send Request.
- 3.Get approval and start editing or sharing ocs.
3. Check what permissions you have
- •Hover over the Share button in the upper right corner of a oc to see what permissions you have.
- •To see other collaborators' permissions, click on the Share button, then click on the collaborator list in the upper right corner to view all (the oc owner can edit all collaborators' permissions).
4. Sharing permissions
- •Click the Share button, search for the name of a user or a group, select the permission you want to share, and click Done or Send to complete sharing.
- •The system will send a sharing notification to the selected user or group. If you don't want to notify the recipient, just uncheck the Send a Lark notification option.
Lark for desktop
- •Copy the link of the ocs you want to share, and send link to a user or a group through chat. The system will automatically grant permission to all members in the chat. (Viewing permission is granted by default. You can modify permissions in the chat).
Lark for web
- •To share ocs on the web, click the ... icon on the right side, then click Share and search for the name of a user or a group. Select the permission you want to give, and click Done or Send to complete sharing.
- •The system will send a sharing notification to the selected user or group. If you don't want to notify the recipient, just uncheck the Send a lark notification box.
5. Sharing Docs with external users
- 1. With company administrator's permission, you can share ocs with external users (contacts outside of your company). Docs accessible by external users will be marked as External.
- •Same as sharing Docs internally, you can give permissions to external users through sharing ocs or sending ocs links via chat.
- •External users who haven't logged into Lark can view ocs. If logged in, external users can view or edit ocs, but aren't able to own ocs.
- •External users aren't be able to see collaborators of ocs or invite more collaborators.
- 2.Without company administrator's permission, you may not share ocs with external users. Contact your company administrator to get approval for external sharing.
6. Sharing Docs through public links
With one click, you can share ocs and give view or edit permission to all members (of the company of your Lark account) or all external users on the Internet.
Share ocs within your company
- •Grant viewing permission to colleagues: Click Share, enable Link sharing, and select Colleagues with the link can view.
- •Grant editing permission to colleagues: Click Share, enable Link sharing, and select Colleagues with the link can edit.
Share docs with colleagues and external users:
- •Grant viewing permission: Click Share, enable Link sharing, and select Anyone with the link can view. In this way, anyone who receives the link can view ocs without logging in to Lark.
- •Grant editing permission: Click Share, enable Link sharing, and select Anyone with the link can edit. In this way, anyone who receives the link can edit ocs when logging in to Lark.
7. Turning on password protection for Docs
You can set a password for ocs to make external access more secured.
- •If a oc is set as Anyone with the link can view or edit, open desired Docs and click on the Share button. Then click on Set password to create a password.
- •If a c is set as People in the organization with the link can view or edit, open desired oc and click on the Password protected link icon at the bottom of the sharing panel, enable password protection, and choose Require password.
Note: Password protection only applies to external users. Members within your company can still access protected ocs without a password.
8. Other security permissions
In addition to the viewing, editing and sharing permissions, ocs also lets you configure other permissions to ensure the security of ocs. To modify the following permissions, choose Share - Settings in the upper right corner of a oc page.
- •Who can comment: Allows you to specify who can leave comments.
- •Allow this doc to be shared externally: Allows you to invite external users or copy sharing link for them to access.
Note: For more information, please refer to "5. Sharing Docs with external users."
- •Who can invite and manage collaborators: Allows you to specify who can invite others to work on ocs. Users with this permission can add or remove collaborators.
- •Who can have these permissions (copy, duplicate, print, export or share the file as an image): Allows you to specify who can make changes to or export ocs.
9. Transferring ownership
Open a specific oc and click on the Share button. Click on the collaborator list in the upper right corner. Then find the target collaborator and choose Set as owner to transfer ownership.
Note: A oc can only have one owner. You will no longer have owner permission once it's transferred.
Q: How can I check or change the default permission for new Docs?
A: To see the default permission for new ocs, click on rofile hoto - Settings - Permission in the upper right corner of a oc. Click on options to change default permission.
Q: Why can't I share my Docs with external users?
A: To share ocs with external users, make sure your company administrator has enabled Allow Documents to be shared externally, or none of the Docs, Sheets, or files under your account can be shared with external users.
Q: Can external users view the collaborator list and collaborator profile photos?
A: To protect the privacy of company members, external users can't view the collaborator list but can see collaborator profile photos of whom are browsing ocs.
Q: Why is a user who hasn't logged into Lark browsing my Docs?
A: If youve set Anyone with the link can view or Anyone with the link can edit for your ocs, anyone with the cs link (including users who haven't logged into Lark) can view or edit it. When Non logged in user xxx is displayed on the profile photo, it means a user who hasn't logged into Lark is currently browsing the oc.
Q: Can I transfer the ownership of Docs in a batch?
A: Only admin can transfer ownership of Docs in a batch.
Q: What will happen if the Docs owner has left the company?
A: If the employee hasnt assigned Docs to new owners, Docs ownership will be transferred to direct manager automatically.