This glossary defines common terms that you might see as you're working in Lark, or throughout our Help Center.
The administration of a business, organization, etc. In Lark, it usually refers to the console where the administrator invites people and manages their business information.
Refer to the permission granted to an app/integration to access contact information.
Refers to a user availability status.
A department within an organization.
A department associated to other departments within the same organization.
rules for reclaiming room
Refers to the specific rules for the reservation and use of meeting rooms.
client cache expiration
After client cache expiration being set, the client (even without network) can automatically delete the local cache data if it is offline for a certain period of time. You can set different client cache expiration.
A navigation page that contains the application icon and application name, mainly located at the bottom of the mobile navigation, the left sidebar of the client navigation.
A navigation bar for more applications which slides out of the global navigation bar.
Account which has been suspended.
Refers to the shared calendar feature on Lark, under which events can be created or edited.
Can be created and edited on the Calendar.
Calendar accessible to all staff members.
Calls and meetings
Voice and video calls are available for one-on-one communication.
Meetings can be started in group chats and allow communication between multiple people.
If a video meeting needs to reach more than 1000 people, the host can livestream the meeting. People from the same company as the host can open the link in a browser and watch the livestream in real time. The livestream includes all audio from the meeting, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity. Millions of people can watch the livestream at the same time.
Go to Effects to try innovative and customized features such as video touch-up, background blur, dynamic layout, and reduction of background noise and keyboard sounds.
Turn on subtitles to convert what's being said into text, with real-time English-Chinese translation available. You can also copy subtitles, search them by entering keywords, or filter them by participant.
If you can't attend a meeting, or if the meeting involves complex or important information, ask the host to record it so you can watch it later. The recording includes all audio from the meeting, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity. After the meeting ends, the host will receive the recording via Docs Assistant, and can watch it online or download the file. The host can also share the recording with other users.
To make communication easier in calls and meetings, you can click the "Share" icon on the control bar and share your entire screen or a specific window.
You can share a document in a call or meeting and allow everyone to co-edit it. Click the "Share" icon on the control bar and search for the document you want to share. Participants can view the document with the presenter or view it on their own.
View with presenter
An option for participants when a document is being shared. If you choose "view with presenter," your view is synced with the presenter's view, and you will see exactly what the presenter sees.
View on your own
An option for participants when a document is being shared. If you choose "view on your own," you can scroll through the document at your own pace. If you have edit permission, you can also edit the document directly, and your changes will be visible to all participants in real time.
Disable "Mirror my video"
In calls and meetings, your video is automatically mirrored to reflect how others see you in real life (the same as what you see when you look in the mirror). You can also choose to turn off this setting.
In a meeting, you can change the video layout to suit your needs. Choose from the 3 layouts available - gallery, sidebar, and speaker - by clicking on the corresponding icon in the top right corner.
To keep meetings secure and make managing participants easier, the host can set different joining permissions to place restrictions on who can join the meeting. This also limits the ability of existing participants to invite people to the meeting.
Pin a participant's video
During a meeting, the main video shows the active speaker. You can also set a specific participant's video as the main video instead.
Usually refers to a feature where the account sets its user name, password, and other personal information.
An online word processor that supports collaborators to edit together and thus makes it more efficient. You can set permissions of reading, editing, commenting and sharing.
Used to increase indentation of text during editing.
Used to decrease indentation of text during editing.
Used to pin elements to make them readily available from the menu.
Refers to the text protection range set in the table. Once set, it is impossible to edit the protected table. You need to contact the document owner to cancel this protection range.
Special feature for urgent messages allowing for the sender to send a message to you via SMS/Call/Persistent notification.
Accessible from the bottom of the chat pane, allows you to filter chats according to certain criteria.
Do Not Disturb Mode
Under this mode, you will not receive notifications other than Buzz messages, video and voice calls.
Refers to the ability to @mention other users in a chat or file.
Refers to one-on-one conversation that occurs in Lark.
A type of chat, in which messages will be "burnt" (destructed) after the set time period.
A group chat involving multiple users.
An administrator for a group chat.
You can "Pin" important messages to make them easier for the team to read. Pinned messages are visible to all team members and will be found in the side bar of chat.
Pin to Quick Switcher
Personal conversations and group chats can be Pinned in the top bar of the dialog box, making it easy to view and send messages at any time.
After chats being moved into the Chat box, they will be silenced and only the number of new messages will be displayed.
The main page where you can access all integrations enabled.
An external integration to Lark to use third party services from within the app.
An app developed for a specific need by users.
The apps marketplace where you can see the list of available external apps.
An autonomous program that interact with you in a chat.
Terms of Service
The terms of service you need to read and accept before using Lark services.
Notification or message to remind you of something or to take an action.
Refers to the version number of the app.
Refers to a version with updated features compared to the previous one.
Used to describe the application ability integrated with Lark.
Connector/ Assistant/ Master
The third party integration tool of Lark.