This article illustrates how to record a call or meeting.
Note: his feature is available on both desktop and mobile for V3.19 or later, and on iPad for V3.19 or later.
After the participants started the recording, audio, video of the active speaker(s), and shared content will be recorded and saved as a Lark Minutes file.
1. Record a call
In a call, either participant can record the call by clicking Start recording. The other participant will receive a prompt asking for their approval. If they approve, the recording will start. Both participants will receive a "Recording started" reminder and the one who starts recording will become the host.
2. Record a meeting
In a meeting, only the host can record, but participants can send requests to the host to start recording.
The host can click record to begin recording and a confirmation prompt will appear. Once confirmed, the recording starts.
Note: If the administrators have enabled "Ask participants for consent when recording starts" in Lark admin, all participants will automatically receive a notification asking for their consent to be recorded when recording starts.
Ask the host to record a meeting
In a meeting, participants can click Record to send the host a request to record the meeting. If the host approves the request, the recording will start, and all participants will receive a "Recording started" reminder. If the host declines the request, the person who sent the request will receive a notification.
Once the recording starts, all participants will see REC on their call or meeting interface to signify that recording is in progress.
3. Stop recording
If the host clicks Stop recording, a confirmation prompt will appear. Once confirmed, the recording stops. All participants will be notified when the recording stops.
4. Access the recording file
What the file includes
The recording file includes audio, video of the active speaker(s), and shared content. It is saved as a Lark Minutes file.
How to access the file
After the recording stops, the host will receive a notification from the Calls and Meetings Assistant bot. The notification contains the meeting topic, the date, and the link to the recording file. Click on the link to access the recording file.
Note: For scheduled meetings, the owner of the recorded file is the organizer; for unscheduled meetings, the owner of the recorded file is the host; for meetings which are started from meeting rooms, participants will receive a prompt asking to assign a file owner before recording starts.
What happens if the person who starts recording a meeting is no longer the host?
All recording permissions will be transferred to the new host. The recording file will still be stored to the Docs of the event organizer or the person who started the meeting.
If I record a call, will I receive the recording file?
When a one-on-one call is recorded, only the person who started recording will receive the file.
If someone joins a call that is being recorded, will they be notified?
Yes. Once a third person joins, the call becomes a meeting, and the new participant will be notified that the meeting is being recorded.