Note: This function is only available to users of enterprise versions E2 and E5. Please contact support or a sales manager to obtain an enterprise version.
A team account Creator or
- •You can activate file encryption for all members. At the moment, granting different encryption permissions to specific departments or members is not supported.
- •Currently, the file encryption feature is only available for iOS and Android mobile devices.
- •Go to the Admin Console and select Security > Security Strategy > Mobile File Encryption.
- •On the mobile file encryption interface, click the Enable encryption button. When the slider is moved to the right and turns blue, the feature is activated.
- •Click the slider button again to deactivate the feature.
What company files are encrypted?
Currently, you can encrypt all files in chats, Docs, Calendar, Shared Space, and Favorites. In the future, we will also support the encryption of files in Workplace mini programs.
Can I configure custom file encryption for specific departments or members?
The file encryption feature is currently only valid for all staff of a company. In the future, we will allow you to configure custom encryption for specific departments and members for more flexible file management.
What is the difference between mobile file encryption management and file permission management?
- •Mobile file encryption management encrypts the images, videos, and documents used in all scenarios at the system level. Members can only open these files in , not in any other apps. This further ensures the security of company information.
- •File permission management stops members from downloading or exporting internal data, but allows cached images, videos, and documents shared in chats and other scenarios to be opened and used on other apps.
When I activate mobile file encryption, will the desktop and web clients also encrypt files?
This feature only applies to mobile files. In order to ensure the functioning of company files in different software when using the desktop client, we currently don't restrict the use of files in the desktop and web clients.
After I enable encryption, will previously received files also be encrypted?
No. Only files received after you enable encryption will be encrypted. Files received and already cached in your device before you enable encryption will not be encrypted.
After encryption is activated, will members be notified when they use the mobile app?
- •When members download or save files, the system will prompt: Because of your organization's security configuration, this file can't be saved locally.
- •When members try to open a file with a third-party app, the system will prompt: Because of your organization's security configuration, this file is encrypted and can't be shared or opened with a third-party app.
Why is the mobile file encryption feature not displayed in my admin console?
This function is only available to users of enterprise version E2 and E5. Please contact support or sales manager to obtain an enterprise version.