The group owner can enable or disable the New members can view chat history function on the group management page.
- 1.Click Settings > Group Management on the toolbar on the right to enter the group management page.
- 2.Select New members can view chat history to enable permission, or unselect to disable it.
- 3.After the permission is changed, there'll be a change message in the group chat.
- 4.When a new member is invited to join the group, there'll be a message in the group chat stating that the new member can either view messages sent after they joined, or the whole chat history.
After the New members can view chat history function is disabled, can new members view Docs, message reply, and Pin history?
After the function is disabled, new members can't view Pin history, but they can search and browse Docs history. After joining the group, new members can't view original messages in threads. They can only view members' replies sent after they joined the group.
Does the group owner have this permission?
The group owner doesn't currently have this permission.
The group administrator can also set whether new members can view chat history after they join the group. To learn more, see .